Selachophobia

I was just watching some TV and came across discovery channel, there was a show about selachophobia. I  don’t understand why I kept watching, until I noticed I recognised many of the symptoms they mentioned. And then it hit me, this is the phobia I have been dealing with for the largest part of my life. Fear of sharks.

Fear of sharks, yes you read that correctly. And I don’t mean I am just afraid when I swim in an ocean that a shark can up, no that would be way too easy and rational for me. No, I have a phobia, which means it is most of the time completely and utterly irrational. First of all, the mere image of a shark makes me shiver, I hate TV shows or documentaries about sharks and I can’t even look at a picture of a shark without feeling this strange unease. However, it doesn’t stop there! Secondly, I don’t get further into open water then where I can still see my feet, and most of the time not even that deep. But last but not least, I am even afraid of swimming pools, the idea that there is a shark in there makes me cold to the bone and gives me major goosebumps. I don’t get into a pool by myself and there always has to be at least one person who is in a deeper part of the pool or I will get out.

The only positive side to this story is that it used to be worse, I was afraid underneath the shower, in a bathtub and I was even afraid of nontransparent liquids such as milk.

When I tell people they laugh but eventually they read from my face I’m dead serious. So yeah, a phobia. And I found out by accident. Yay. Something I just found out BTW is that there are a lot more people like me with this phobia, I never knew, this makes me quite happy.

I guess that’s it for today.

Leave a Reply

